An Anxious Student in a Foreign Country

by Kuma

Hallo, pals! Miss us much?

While Peach is busy being a Korean diva and working her butt off at the Korean Centre, I travelled to Singapore for my studies. (Yes, more studies, MOAR  😈)

11db05195ec51933c6e3f40fb61c00f42c0962df.jpg

First impression: Absolute bliss. First few days I was like a tourist, I spent my time hopping on and off the bus, and familiarising myself with the super efficient SMRT system. I ate out a lot, finally paid a visit to DAISO (oh Daiso! the land where everything is $2), bought weather-friendly clothes (MUJI and COTTON ON ❤ ), and did the usual touristy attractions. I was blown away by the convenience of living in this tiny country. Again, these were only the first few days, what was referred to as the “Honeymoon Period” in a talk at my University. When everything is glorious, attractive, and you’re basically a sport and willing to accept a new place as your own for the next year or so.

~One Week Later

I. Want. To. Go. Home. Now. PLEASE.

I missed my parents, my sisters, my friends, my dog (who passed away two months ago :'() and my mom’s food. Mostly, I missed the comforts of my own room, so much so that all Facebook Video Chats ended with a tour of my room back home. (Thanks for bearing with me momma.)

I missed my bookshelf, my bed, my AC, my kitchen, my living area, Home.

The anxiety one feels when you realise, this is it, you’re here, now what? You have to live with strangers, eat with strangers or alone, sleep with strangers in the same house, and sort your own life and make your own decisions, is overwhelming and you feel like taking the first flight out and be done with this ordeal. The fees hasn’t been paid yet, the deposit on your apartment isn’t out yet, why not go home? You could just say you travelled, saw the place, had a fun time, and now you’re satisfied so just pack your bags and leave already!! 🏃🏽✈️
img_20160819_222121

~Fast Forward a few more days

Soon you realise, that’s not how it works. You have to be strong, you’ve been at home far too long, hence the anxiety. You never took an initiative to communicate and interact with strangers, well here’s your chance. You’re here to learn aren’t you? Then get on it! Everything else will automatically fall back into place. And it did.

If you’ve noticed, not once did the anxiety have anything to do with the country itself. I wasn’t anxious because I was in Singapore and not Sydney or Canada (as was originally planned). It was because I was away from an extremely well-protected and secure environment that I was used to. However, being in Singapore, being amidst everything I feel so passionately about i.e. Asian goodness (which you will see much more of in our subsequent posts) helped to ease the pressure.

img_20160820_160918Singapore isn’t very big, traveling isn’t a chore, people are really helpful and sweet (save for a few randos, um, they are universally available here and there I believe). I have access to Etude House, Innisfree, Daiso, Its Skin (can’t afford yet, but soon), and many other such divine gifts from the heavens.

Of course my material heart seeks material things, but, the greenery here is such a pleasant surprise. All you see in the pictures is literally just Marina Bay Sands, the Flier, and the sweet little Merlion, there’s so much more!!

I am talking about the ridges, the hiking trails, the unexplored districts, and other fun things. I haven’t been here long (just about two months) and I’m already getting super comfortable! \(^_^)/

ALSO ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ~~~~~~

img_20160715_134206

~The point

When you travel to a foreign country, not as a tourist but as a student, it can be so so difficult. But my sweethearts, hang in there, keep at it, shed a few tears and remember why you went there in the first place, think of the people you love and the support they offered you, because at the end of the day when you look out your window and the most beautiful view greets you and reminds you of all the wonderful opportunities that are going to come your way, it will be worth it. All of it.

✌️🏽

~Acknowledgments ❤ ❤ ❤

{Here, I would like to take a chance to acknowledge my friends (you know who you are) for helping me so selflessly to settle in. Where would I be without you. I LOVE YOU GUYS ❤ }

~Remember, Perseverance ( ˘ ³˘)💋

 

 

5 thoughts on “An Anxious Student in a Foreign Country

  1. Ah yes I remember when I had to go for training in Germany for three months. I mean it’s not a long time compared to 3-4 years of studying, but I experienced much of what you said – including the language barrier. I practically had to live there. Catch a bus or tram to work. Go shopping for groceries (I didn’t know how to say plastic bag in German!). And it was freezing cold, which as a South African was torture for me. I like the sun.

    Eventually it all worked out. Met great people, visited a number of places and took lots of photos. Traveled on weekends to other places in Germany (including getting lost in Stuttgart haha) and a whole adventure. It was difficult at first but eventually I learned to enjoy this new experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi! Totally can relate to your experience! Although language is not an issue here as everyone speaks English, it was still so difficult to get accustomed to their ways and the humidity haha. Sometimes I still want to run back home, but ultimately I enjoy roaming the streets without a care. ^-^
      Thanks for sharing! 😄 ~Kuma

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

