A Majestic Trail into the Tiger’s Den.

~Kuma

♫♫

I am not much of an outdoorsy person, therefore, I tend to avoid anything that has to do with the wilderness, you know insects and whatnot. However, one opportune morning my father decides that we must go and see some tigers in the jungles of Ranthambore ! I was just not feeling it, but you can’t say no if family is involved, can you? We decided to take a trip to the City of Tigers and I have to say, by the end of my stay I was fairly psyched about the idea of returning to the city some time in the future. International Plebs pay attention! This place is a major haunt for foreign nationals, as its rustic, natural beauty replete with India’s national animal is a sight to behold.

IMG_2572

I thought it would be awesome if I could give you guys some foolproof tips to book a leisurely and restful stay.

~A Brief Introduction

The city of Ranthambore is primarily popular for its Tiger Reserve, as the city itself does not hold much to a tourist’s attraction. My advice would be to book a great hotel/resort, so that you can enjoy your stay as much as you enjoy the safari.

~Highly recommended hotel/ resort

IMG_2686 IMG_2667 IMG_2666 IMG_2668

The Tiger Villa~ It is just off the highway that leads to the Tiger Reserve, hence, right in the middle of the forest. Sometimes, as the nicest, friendliest, and most accommodating employees told us, tigers can be spotted lazing across the main entrance, which honestly is off the charts! (Didn’t see any there though, my parents did run off in the jeep for a hoax tiger call, fun!)

For other hotels or resorts you could always look to the higher-end luxury hotels like Oberoi Vanyavilas, Vivanta by Taj, or Tree House Hotels. But for plebs like us I recommend the RTDC Hotel Vinayak, run by the Government of India or similar places. ~Make sure to keep an eye out for travel packages that include safari+hotel accommodation~

~Tiger Spotting

IMG_2609 IMG_2622

Spotting a tiger(s) is based on route, distance, and pure luck. We had all three on our side considering it was the day of the auspicious festival of colours, Holi. At least that’s what my parents told me. The routes are numbered from 1-10, and the common understanding is that Route 3 and 4 are best to spot the beautiful creatures. Do not choose any  route beyond 5, epic fail. You can either book online, or if you’re adventurous, like we were, go to the bookings office at 5:30 AM and get your desired route! They provide gypsy or canter, I recommend a canter, as its bigger, taller, faster, badder.

~The City

IMG_2691 IMG_2636

Besides the safari, you could visit the Ranthambore Fort for enjoying the company of The Gray Langurs {watch out, they can get quite feisty}, and strange birds.

I hope you get the idea. I, for one, had loads of fun and rest. Go have a blast and I pray to the superpowers that each of you have the pleasure of sighting these majestic beauties like I did!

~(^_^)~ ♪♪

~And now for a little treat~

( ˘ ³˘) 💋

©

Leave a Reply

